This blog spent a lot of last year trying to decide what it wanted to be, going in haphazard directions and trying to put on a happy face when really it was just confused.

And the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. After reflecting for a while, I realized that I also spent much of 2010 struggling with who I want to be, where I want to be, and how in the world I was going to get there. I was a little caught up with the future, with trying to discern a murky path. I missed out on a lot, I think; a lot of feeling and doing and a whole lot of peace.

So now with the new year, both this blog and I are going to settle down a little. Just be how we feel like being, talk about what we feel like talking about, taking in the splendor of each day…because really, I have a lot to appreciate. I want to recognize all the marvels in my life at this moment – I live in New York City!!! How many people can say that?

I plan to live with more joy in the day-to-day. I strive to be more grateful for all that I have and for all the opportunity that will someday open to me, without my having to stress or obsess over it now.

Perhaps more precisely: I want to live with the courage that someday I’ll look down and find myself all of a sudden on a path. A path that I never could have predicted or chosen for myself.

Already I feel calmer, more at ease and more able to take a breath and smile. Let’s hope this is a resolution that sees its way through the whole year, and beyond.

