My meal of the week this time is Minestrone Soup. Full of vegetables, beans, yumminess and a little too much dried parsley. But hey, when a baggie-full costs just $0.13, it’s easy to go overboard.

$0.13 for a bag of spices, you say?

Here’s the part I’m really excited about: I just joined a food coop (plug: “the largest wholly member-owned and operated food coop in the country”). The 15,000+ members each work a 2-3 hour shift every four weeks in exchange for a 20-40% savings on food. Really good food. Organic, grass-fed, sustainable food.

I don’t consider myself a granola person, but I’m getting a kick out of how much I love eating well and how I buy the organic- milk-that-costs-twice-as-much.

I’m wondering why it took me so long to join, given my interest in a foodie future. I’m quite giddy, actually. I’ll let you know if I still feel that way after my first shift (I’m a cashier!)

Expect lots of vegetables in my future.

