Everyone has a perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe, and I think I have a pretty great one. The cookies aren’t too flat, for a toasted crunchy outside and slight softness inside, and mixing brown and white sugar gives them just the right level of sweetness. I’ve come across some new recipes recently that claim to be the best, though, so maybe I’ll have to do some experimenting.

Unlike 99% of the population, chocolate chip is not in my top 5 cookie flavors. It may just barely make the top 10. My cookie dreams revolve around oatmeal raisin, m&m, white chocolate macadamia, snickerdoodle, sugar and coconut. Luckily I know a certain someone who loves – no, begs for – batches upon batches of trusty chocolate chip. And could there be an easier baked good to whip up at 10:30 pm?

So while they may not be my favorite, here’s my ode to the humble, warm and gooey, nostalgia-inducing, completely American chocolate chip cookie:

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
makes 4 dozen

1 c butter
1 c white sugar
1 c brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp hot water
1/2 tsp salt
2 c semisweet choc chips
1 c chopped walnuts (optional – could substitute more chips!)

Preheat oven to 350

Cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla.

Dissolve baking soda in hot water; add to batter with salt. Stir in flour, chips and nuts.

Drop onto ungreased trays. Bake for 10 min, or until edges are browned

Devour, because even I think they’re pretty darn tasty.

