I’m relaxed, refreshed and happy with the world this Sunday night. It was the most pleasant type of weekend, filled with delightful small activities that make you love the city you live in and the people you’re with even more. Lots of sleep, simple but classic meals (ummm pb&j sandwich, bagel with cream cheese and pasta), a kick-butt run through a sunny park and board games.

Highlight would definitely be the BC game, the first I’ve seen this season, which we watched at a bar with craft-y brews and fellow football fans. It was just perfect to sit there, chilling and talking, for over 4 hours.

I got a little burnt-out from traveling this summer, can you tell? So far my recovery Fall is going just as planned. Er, just as not-planned, since I’m keeping it free and easy.

I also made my first huge pot of soup of the season. (It was breezy and rainy today, I felt it was an appropriate day to welcome Autumn.) A lovely white bean soup with a variety of veggies. It will be my lunch for the next four days so hopefully it continues to taste as good as it did tonight.

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1 yellow onion, chopped
3-4 medium carrots, chopped
10 oz frozen corn
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 cans white beans
1 can diced tomatoes (I would add more next time)
1 box frozen chopped spinach
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp dried parsley

Directions

1. Heat oil, saute garlic and onion until tender, about 5 minutes
2. Stir in carrots and corn, season with salt and pepper and cook another 3 minutes
3. Pour in broth, beans, tomatoes, spinach, thyme, parsley. Bring to a boil, then simmer for an hour. Salt & pepper to taste.

Pair with a fresh crusty roll and enjoy!

